Announcing the 2024 EAPC Researcher Award Winners!

The EAPC Researcher Awards have been established to acknowledge those individuals who have made significant contributions to research and clinical practice in palliative care.

There are three award categories:

  • Early Researcher Award – Awarded to a candidate who demonstrates excellence in the early stages of a research career.
  • Post Doctoral Award – Awarded to a candidate who has performed independent research and has demonstrated evidence of impact through high quality, highly cited publications and dissemination activities.
  • Clinical Impact Award – Awarded to a clinician who has demonstrated excellence in promoting palliative care through clinical practice, public advocacy, policy or education.

The recipients of these prestigious awards are selected by the scientific committee of the congress. The awardees represent the pinnacle of excellence within the palliative care research and clinical community.

We are delighted to announce this years winners:

EAPC Early Researcher Award Winner: Grace Yang (Singapore), Senior Consultant, Division of Supportive and Palliative Care, National Cancer Centre Singapore

EAPC Post-Doctoral Award Winner: Libby Sallnow (UK), Associate Professor and Head of Department, Marie Curie Palliative Care Research Group, University College London (UCL), Consultant Physician in Palliative Medicine, Central and Northwest London NHS Foundation Trust & University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Guest Professor and post-doctoral fellow, End-of-Life Care Research Group, Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB), Belgium, Senior Clinical Lecturer, St Christopher’s Hospice

EAPC Clinical Impact Reward Winner: Sabrina Bajwah (UK), Clinical Senior Lecturer, Cicely Saunders Institute, Consultant Palliative Medicine, King’s College NHS Foundation Trust

All three will be presenting at EAPC Congress next month in Barcelona. We asked each of them to tell us a little about what this award means to them:

I’m privileged to do the work we do in supporting patients with advanced serious illnesses and their families. It is encouraging to be recognised for our research work that extends this support beyond individuals to more people through systems-level innovation. I’m grateful for the guidance and support from mentors.

Grace Yang

This award recognises the growing and crucial area of public health approaches to death, dying, and grieving and I want to acknowledge the countless others who have been working tirelessly over the years to build the field into what it is today. We are now seeing real results and traction!

Libby Sallnow

I am delighted to be receiving this prestigious award. I have a vision of equitable end of life care for all and this drives forward both my clinical and academic work. I feel honoured that the clinical impact of my work has been recognised by the EAPC. Thank you.

Sabrina Bajwah

Share This Post