EAPC Congress​

Every year we organise a palliative care congress for our members and the wider global palliative care network and community. Each year we alternate between the World Congress and the World Research Congress.​

Hosting an EAPC congress

The EAPC typically decide where our congress will be held 2-3 years in advance. We only accept applications to host from our national associations.  When we are seeking proposals, the EAPC board will open a call.  All of our European national associations are welcome to bid to host the congress.  After the closing date, the EAPC board considers all submitted tenders and selects a host city.   

The next call for tender, for hosting our 2026 and 2027 congresses, will be issued to our network of national associations in Autumn 2023.

Congress awards​

We have a number of awards that we present at our congress. 

  • EAPC Researcher Awards
  • EAPC Prize
  • Cicely Saunders Award
  • Vittorio Ventafridda Award
  • Floriani Award
  • Palliative Medicine ‘Paper of the Year’
  • Journal of Palliative Medicine ‘European Paper of the year’